Perpetuity

Up high
wind slices the warm
and palm fronds clatter
while white-robed ghosts
sip lattes
behind reflections
of morning time


Fluffy clouds bluster
southerly and vengeful
blurring bee lines
of last night’s bats
who made symmetric
the orange watercolour
of yesterday’s dusk


You move
into my view
wrapped in weather
exhaling
a drag from your cigarette
some thought cast on the breeze
that blows towards me


When you turn
light bounces
blue and cool
like a shirt I bought you
into my eye
that crinkles
because I love you


As the sun shifts
(and it will)
lines will be re-read
tracing a familiar zig zag
to your mirror smile
and I’ll remember you
just like this

Leave a Reply

