Two Birds

As I began my day
I went into the world
and I was spoken to,
a voice in my left ear,
and I was told to turn
as I set my foot
on the blacktop river
that would take me to
the place; the place,
I am told in my right ear,
is perfectly lined for me:
fresh newspaper,
fresh water;
but my left ear burns
and my throat is always dry
and today there is a tugging
at my earlobe,
so I turn
and I see trees reflected
in the black water,
and the water seems to flow
downhill now,
and I—like a Pooh stick
drift from one side
of a stone bridge to the other,
and when I look up,
squint past the blinding sun
which was not here yesterday,
I see that no one is watching.

One Response to “Two Birds”

  1. I found your site from the Perth Poetry Club website which I looked up when I was visiting Perth late last year and went to a poetry reading day at the Moon cafe with my daughter.

    I hope there will be more poems posted to read this year. I have been enjoying reading them.

    Olivia

Leave a Reply

